Shareology

foursquare: social media connector or stalking tool? November 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kayroseland @ 9:20 pm
Tags: ,

I’m having reservations about foursquare.  Let me start by saying that I get the social component; if I was meeting people at bars and restaurants on a regular basis, I’d be all for foursquare.  Checking in to something like Minnebar or Product Camp: awesome, I get it. 

What I’m questioning is why people I do not know want to follow me on foursquare.   One of my 30 (yep, only 30!!) foursquare friends actually has over 500 foursquare friends!   If my Droid X made tweety sounds for the checkins of 500 people, I would send it permanently to a time out.  

I want to know who those 30 people are that I am shadowing.   Honestly, one of my friends checks into Weight Watchers on a weekly basis.  Another (I am not making this up!) checked into Sex World on almost a daily basis.   TMI, people!!!  

If you have 500 friends, how do you know one of them is not waiting for you to check into Mall of America so they can case your home for some shopping of their own? 

For my final rant, why are we telling our friends every time we check into Target or Depot?   The one nifty feature of foursquare is that you can check in but NOT tell your friends….just click NO to the share question.

Feels better to get that out on the written screen. 

When I check into Hacks & Hackers Twin Cities tomorrow night, I’m gonna love finding out if I’m the first to check in, or who I know who already is there…. So I do use foursquare.   For now.

Kay Roseland   @KayLoire

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,445 other followers