Shareology

Happy 3rd Birthday, Shareology!!! July 24, 2012

Shareology began on July 26, 2009:  Happy Birthday!!!

What I am most proud of is the sheer diversity of subject matter. Ok, Shareology has tipped heavily towards retail brands. However, you will find posts on social media, marketing and networking sprinkled throughout Shareology. This works out pretty great, in that I hesitated to start a blog when my interests are so very diverse. One of the surprises has been that posts I have considered to be sort of simplistic have resonated with readers. Luckily they can see the wisdom buried in the shallowness that is Shareology. (Hmm…..that might be a new post: Embrace your Shallowness….not in the Kim K shallowness but in the KLR shallowness…like I’ve never met a British mystery I didn’t love….or mysteries about Venice or Paris….or south Florida….)

So: three things I’m proud of:

Readers come back; posts draw new readers, sort of like an annuity. When I am feeling guilty that I have not continued posting twice a week, and can barely manage once a month, I marvel at the continued attraction of years old posts. The St. Paul picture of Peppermint Patty in Rice Park kicking a football remains popular; who knew I’d be walking through that park every morning on the way to work?

I had a few retail scoops in my time…. I beat the Strib by a day announcing the arrival of Louis Vuitton in Galleria. (They were waiting for a quote from the NY office; not Shareology. I saw the signs in Galleria in the midst of a horrific downturn in retail and knew this was huge news.) Thanks to some superb sources, I scooped everyone by months in announcing Microsoft was opening a store in Mall of America, across from Apple.

My photography is a surprise…. One of the bases for Shareology was the thought that a boatload of words tossed on a blog is innately pretty boring. Thus my point-and-shoot Canon became a fixture of Shareology. A definite highlight was when I was contacted by the general contractor of the Louis Vuitton store, asking if he could use a Shareology photo on his website, to advertise his firm’s abilities. He offered a photo credit. I am still glowing from that.

So, where will Shareology go? Beats me. I’ve been converted to a content calendar at work; it’s necessary to manage the posts of 20 some writers. But Shareology? Shareology will continue to report the world as she sees it and experiences it. But not before stopping to thank all those readers who came to read, to laugh, to argue, to comment, and to return. Without you…..Shareology would be a big old room full of echoes.

One final point:  Shareology recently went and clicked on those very first seven posts (right hand column, waaaaay at the bottom.) Talk about an out-of-body experience.  It really does feel like they were written by someone else.  While Shareology tries to come back together as one, click on July, 2009:  that Target branding post still holds up, as does the one on Bachmans’ marketing.  Enjoy!

Happy 3rd Birthday!!!

Kay Roseland @KayLoire

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,445 other followers