Shareology

Confessions of a Low-Tech Social Media Geek May 10, 2010

I have spent the last year learning about social media, and crafting a personal brand that is reflected on LinkedIn, Twitter and Shareology.  (My Facebook presence is primarily to keep track of my three nephews, other relatives, and to shoo folks back to my profiles on LinkedIn and Twitter.)  My interactions, particularly those on Twitter and Shareology have given me much joy.  I hope that they have enlightened, amused and entertained those who encounter me there.  

 Shareology often giggles as she sees that some might even consider her a geek.  (Hey, if you’re gonna hang out at MinneBar, these rumors will start.)   Yeah, I probably understand technology a tad more than the general population.  But the time has come to ‘fess up.  

 Shareology has a rule:  just as much technology as I actually really need….Ok, being Shareology the rule is Make Mucho of Little……

 Here are the 3 big confessions.

  • At home, I’m still using AOL Download   (It’s costing me $11.99 a month, which I find very attractive……)
  • I am one of the 66% of cell phone users who do not have a smart phone.   (Although being on the go and not having instant access to email is starting to really bug me…)
  • Oh, yeah, and I access twitter through www.twitter.com on my laptop.  (I even have TweetDeck on my laptop, but I just don’t like it or use it….)

 One of the reasons I can get away with such a stunning lack of technology is my wireless laptop.   If I choose to lug the 17 inch laptop from Caribou to Urban Bean to Aloft to Southdale Library, I can plug and play, so to speak.   If I come down from the 11th floor to my condo community room, I can tap into wireless while watching the green lawns outside.  

 My point?  And I do have one….is that social media does not necessarily require the latest from Apple to make you a functional social media communicator.  Although I have had my fingers on at least 3 iPads, and the touch is oh, so lovely…..I am not tempted to buy one.  I am toying with a smart phone in the future…. BlackBerry?  Droid?   And don’t get me started on how cute and portable those net books are.   Are you listening 17 inch monitor?

 Social media is not an exclusive club, neither from a technology standpoint, nor from a human one.  Come on in, join The Social Media River!   (And a tip of the hat to Jen Kane for the use of the phrase, The River!) 

 Kay Roseland   @KayLoire

 

3 Responses to “Confessions of a Low-Tech Social Media Geek”

  1. Mark Says:

    Great post, Kay! You nailed it for a lot of us IPhoneless waifs.

    Mark L.

  2. Carolyn Lawson Low Says:

    Here! Here – you don’t need to be gadget central to be connected and use social media well.

  3. Randy Bunker Says:

    Nice post. Important to focus on the “social” aspect of social media, and not the technology. Social media seems almost more like a state of mind, and tech can’t fill that gap, only you can (although I’m counting the seconds until my T-Mobile contract is up in August so I can jump ship for an iPhone …).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,445 other followers